It's hard to focus with so many tasks!

A

Anonymous

I've been using the GTD system for a about 4 months now and it's helped so much! But, now I realize how little I focus on important things.

I have 580 next actions, with 223 in Someday/Maybe. That means 357 things that need to be done ASAP. I have a master project list and all the NA are tied to projects. I'm pretty regular about the Weekly Review, at least every 2 weeks.

But I still find my self making a short list on paper that I plan to tackle just for today. That doesn't seem to be keeping with the system.

How can I focus on the important things? How can I organize this so I'm not so overwhelmved.

I'm Unfocused.

A

andmor

Focussing on Important Things

Docta:

Actually, I'm not sure that the system doesn't tell you not to do this, although DA warns against the potentially negative emotional results of failing to keep up with an overly-precise daily schedule. GtD tells you to create a complete categorized inventory and then suggests different ways to make selections. Personally, I prefer your way, as I have written here before, with those long lists out of sight while I am working.

Andrew

jkgrossi

Registered
Docta,

I've set up my system in a fashion that is very similar to what you and Andrew describe. I found that by not making a list of things that I would like to accomplish on a given day, there was nothing to make the NA's that were truly "important but not urgent" (borrowing the phrase from FC) stand out from the crowd.

So, what I've basically do is compile a "plan" of what I would like to accomplish on a given day. For every day, I have my calendar of appointments (time and day specific) and a daily NA list that consists of 1. Items that are day specific, and 2. Items that are not day specific, but are none the less imporant.