Why am i still in the same reacting to (vs. attacking) what needs to get done?

Why am i still in the same "reacting to" (vs. "attacking/facing") what needs to get done?

1. Not sure if my issue is with "methodology" or "software" (in terms of which forum I should be in. This is my first time on this site)

2. I've been muddling through the book and the David Allen podcasts - and started using Nirvana task management software.

3. I'm good at capturing everything (and there is so much!) into the Nirvana Inbox and slotting time/day-specific items in calendar.

4. But I struggle with creating/assigning Projects. I also feel that I already have so many Projects, and my list of Projects (as well as my Inbox!) just keeps growing and I can't see everything at once, so I can't asses what is priority among the various projects. And this makes me not trust the system and therefore remain stressed.

5. I also find it difficult to define, label and attach "areas" and "tags" (Nirvana's lingo) to each to-do item that pops into my head; I spin my wheels which area and tag does each item need.

I wonder if my issues would be resolved by switching to Omnifocus? I am not very tech-savvy - but want to be. I wish I had a trusted system.

any insight would be appreciated. :)

triciaho

Registered
I have found the 2 Minute Rule to be a great way to get started and to start training myself to think in terms of the Next Action. I use Outlook Tasks for work and Wunderlist for personal. Like many GTD-ers, I've tried Omnifocus earlier this year and it is very powerful - if you can get it to work. Unfortunately, I struggled as it was an overkill for my simple personal tasks. Ended up spending too much time tweaking the configurations than "getting things done".