Why does my Weekly Review take 4-6 hours?

Almost Done

Registered
Hi all,
New to GTD. I would like some feedback on my weekly review checklist. If I have a hard stop after 90 mins on the WR, I find I have only done about 3-4 items on this WR checklist. If, as I have done, allowed the entire day for the WR I can get to the bottom. Obviously this takes some practice. But I am posting my checklist here to see if you can give me some feedback. I am a small business owner: one employee, one admin assistant who comes in 4 hours one night per week. Anything she cannot do in one evening I have to do. Thanks for your comments.

Attached files image_770.doc (26.5 KB) 

TesTeq

Registered
Use the checklist published in the GTD book.

It is not the GTD Weekly Review checklist. Use the checklist published in the GTD book.

kglade

Registered
Although your WR checklist is not the GTD standard one, it still seems like you ought to be able to get through it in 90 minutes as long as you remember that in the WR you list what needs to be done, but do it only if it takes less than 2 minutes. For example, 'have I done my writing this week?' could generate a calendar entry for next Tuesday 10a - 11a for 'do writing.' This takes only a minute or so.

The WR is not the time to catch up and DO the things on your action lists, but to review the lists, update them, and get clear in your head what you want to do in the next week.

BTW, it often takes me about 2 hours to do my WR.

Ken

Oogiem

Registered
Almost Done;96708 said:
Hi all,
New to GTD. I would like some feedback on my weekly review checklist. If I have a hard stop after 90 mins on the WR, I find I have only done about 3-4 items on this WR checklist.