New to GTD, What is the best way to keep track of processed items?

knakkeow

Registered
Hello,

I'm not sure if this is the right place for this. If someone may have already posted a similar question, please point me in the right direction.

I'm new to GTD, I have read the book, and have implemented the Capture phase.

I'm struggling with the processing and organizing phase. For processed items that have associated actions, what is the best way to keep those items tracked? Ex. Processing my physical mail, identify that this needs to be tracked, input it into excel with 1) Context = @phone, 2) Outcome = Remove unknown charges, 3) Next Actions = a. Call the bank to discuss charges, b. Review charges, c. determine what happened, d. find a resolution, 4) Log = 2019/01/01 Called bank, talked to John, he is said charges came from overseas and going to get me new cards. Waiting for the new card.

Is there a better way to do this? I feel that time is spent "Logging", shuffling entries between @WaitingFor @Agenda or @Calls lists, Moving around calendar events, and not a whole lot of time getting stuff done.

Thoughts and recommendations on a better way of handling this? I'm looking for something practical, and easily move between paper and digital.

My thanks in advance,

Khanin

mcogilvie

Registered
I think we could simplify your example a bit. You notice the unknown charges, so “Call bank re unknown charges” goes on @calls list. You call the bank, they see the charges are bogus, agree to remove the charges and send new cards. “Waiting for new credit cards” goes on your Waiting For list. If this is enough, you don’t need an outcome because it isn’t a project, and you don’t need b), c) or d). Overplanning is a common issue, and it does take practice to find what just enough is for you.