About to move back to GTD on paper - what folder/paper-binding system to use?

David Popely

Registered
This is a really interesting thread for all sorts of reasons.

I'm a long time paper based GTD user (since 2011, I think). In that time I've been in and out of most of the digital apps available (both then and now), without finding a solution I really felt comfortable enough to settle into. I've always found coming back to paper very easy, and the immediacy of capture/input really works well for me. I know a lot of digital users who say the same thing in reverse, and honestly - I don't begrudge any of the their success with digital. It's just not for me (I've finally realised).

I think a lot of the time I've been driven to try different digital solutions because I 'thought I ought to', because 'digital is the future', or because of some other version of the above, without really listening to my own thoughts enough.

Before GTD I was a Time Manager user for over 20 years and still regard it as the best put together ring bound system ever (sadly, now defunct).

I use an A5 Filofax, with TimeSystem inserts (very easy to repurpose for GTD), but I've become increasingly dissatisfied with their customer service when re-ordering time ticks around, so now I'm migrating to some custom forms provided by a good friend of mine who is an even more long-term and die-hard GTD user. The whole system works smoothly.

I've never been worried about losing my Filofax (any more than I would about losing my phone or my laptop), and I've only ever had one 'near miss' in other 30 years of ring binder use.

Happy to answer any question about this.

David

RS356

Registered