How many items in a list is sensible?

C

Campion

Hi all,

I am actively using the GTD system with my PDA & Outlook.

I come to a point these days, that I accumulate a moderate number of NA in my lists, such that it's not as easy to have an overall impression of this "soft-landscape" when I evaluate them from time to time. This makes me struggle to keep my mind from taking the whole thing back into its consciousness.

My point is, I am surely not having as many NA as most of you here (I'm only a student), so you guys must have a perfect strategy for this.

I considered breaking large lists into smaller lists with more refined contexts, so every one of them does not carry so many. But I don't want to have too many lists too (for example, jokingly, breaking @Home into @Toilet, @living room, @kitchen, @bedroom... sounds ridiculous, unless I have a giant house).

I also considered tagging items in big list with prefix like, @Desk, @Meeting etc. It's what I am doing now, but it does not completely solve my problem.

Of course, after all, ultimately I should train myself to have more analytical power so I can sensibly evaluate ~20 items in any given list at a glance.

What do you think?

jknecht

Registered
I am constantly doing battle with the number of next actions on each of my lists too. I like to keep each context as small as possible, because too many items are difficult for me to get my mind around without spending too much mental energy. Here are some of my strategies...

1. (as you've already mentioned) Refine the contexts. Most of the time, this is not necessary (because of my other strategies). When I do this, it is usually temporary.

2. Defer. Sometimes I have to just recognize that my list is too long, because I've committed to too many things. In this case, it's time to renegotiate and get some things off my plate -- at least until my next weekly review.