Just starting out, question about PDA and paper

S

Starfish

Hi all,

As the subject line states, I'm just starting out with GTD -- as a matter of fact, I think today marks the first week! So far, I've managed to go through my office desk, my home desk (and filing cabinet), my briefcase, and clear out my RAM. I did this in stages (RAM first, then the office a couple of days later, and then the home office last).

I've been using a PDA (Sony Clie) for keeping track of projects, NAs, calendar, and contact info during this last week. I put NAs into the Todo list, with categories used to separate contexts. I also used Shadow (Palm outlining software) to keep track of Projects, with individual tasks in the projects linked to a NA in the Todo list.

I also carry a small notebook around for data capture when entering text into a PDA is not convenient.

Some problems I have noticed:

1) Any actionable e-mails I get are stored in an appropriate folder (as per the suggestions in GTD), but the NAs themselves are entered into the Palm. Therefore, I have to sync with my office PC, my home PC, as well as keep track of what's in Shadow and what's a NA. Edit: Note that by "sync" I mean manual syncing, and not 'Hotsync' - although I do that too!

2) I am not sure how to link information that is associated with a NA. For example, if my project is "Organize daughter's birthday party", and I have a series of NAs associated with it, where do I store the information gleaned from each NA? I currently have the invitation list and gift ideas in Memo Pad, and other notes in Shadow (as part of the Project entry).

3) In addition, if there is information that I want to keep after the project expires, how do I archive that with my (paper) file folders?

I believe that what I am experiencing here is (a) the feeling of spending too much time on working with the PDA (i.e., working on the mechanics to enable GTD), and (b) a lack of hard edges that defines the proper place for information.