Multiple desk locations decision whether to use GTD software

J

Janezo

I'm a practicing clinical psychologist who is also a psychology professor, so I work from multiple locations:

• my office at home - my primary desk - where I use my computer to prepare statements and correspondence for my practice, prepare teaching materials, grade papers, read/write most emails, return calls.
  • my office at my practice, where I have no computer. Hey, clinical practice is pretty low-tech, and besides, as it's just a part-time practice, I'm only at that location for 8-10 hours/week.
  • my office on campus, where I meet with students, read/write emails, receive and return calls. I have a second computer there.
  • Various impromptu, temporary work sites - my classrooms on campus, meeting sites on campus, etc. No computer or other electronic device at these locations, just paper.

An additional piece of information that is relevant: I don't have electronics other than these two computers (both Macs), a basic PDA that I use to track appointments and keep contact information, and a cellphone. Thus if I do implement GTD software, I will only have access to the software from my home office (and perhaps campus office, if there's a way to synch the two), and I will be relying on printouts everywhere else.

So here are my questions...

Does it make sense to use GTD software when I work from so many different locations, not all of which have a computer? Are items going to fall through the cracks? Is it going to slow me down to have to enter into my home office computer all of the items I've accumulated during the day in my paper-based UCD? Does my situation cry out for an all-paper implementation or are there ways to get the benefits of software without getting a laptop to make the software completely portable?

I know that I could just "try out" GTD software and see how it goes, but if that doesn't work, I'm afraid I'll end up making a bigger mess than what I contend with at present.