Nirvana HQ

bcmyers2112

Registered
I reached out to Nirvana to confirm this. While I don't have reason to doubt @lastgasp, as a former journalist I do like to check my facts. I guess for me the question is whether they do this to paid subscribers or not.

While I think @mcogilvie has a good point (he almost always does), I think everyone has to decide for themselves whether and how principle trumps practicality. I don't know that this is a good policy, but I know if I left my Nirvana account untouched for a year, it would mean I had no use for anything in it. So this doesn't necessarily change my comfort level with Nirvana as my trusted system.

And it's worth point out that they make your data very easy to back up and export in non-proprietary formats, including as a CSV file. It's not like they hold you hostage.

lastgasp

Registered
Why on earth would task lists you abandoned a year ago be of any use? If I was returning to Nirvana after more than a year, the first thing I'd do would definitely be to delete everything, since most of the old projects and tasks would be irrelevant.
Now ask: Why on earth would recurring and archival client project content, dozens of evergreen lists, and curated reference material be of any use? I was not "returning to Nirvana after more than a year." I had been regularly referring to my reference material and checklists in Nirvana. I had not "abandoned" anything; I simply had not added anything new.

bcmyers2112: ... I know if I left my Nirvana account untouched for a year, it would mean I had no use for anything in it. ... is there any value in actions, projects, etc. that you haven't even looked at in a year? I doubt any of that "data" would be meaningful or reflective of your current reality. I think if they erased that stuff for me they'd be doing me a favor.