No time for processing

Zelda

Registered
Dear all,

sorry, if that got discussed before - but I could not find "my" answer yet. ;)

I work as a consultant and spent most of my time at the customers site. Usally 100% of my 40 hour week are spend there. I normaly add between 10 and 15 more hours for travel time and catching up on other time critical tasks.

I nearly never work with my non time critical NA lists, only with day specific stuff. Even those do not get done completely most of the time. So i am behind...

My work gives me new input lets say 85 % of my time...

The problem is - how can I complete my tasks on time and work of the NA lists and not work more than I already do? (less would be even better :) )

I already try to shipt stuff from NA to SM. Unfortunately most of the customers work must get done and if I shift to sm or just do not do timecritical tasks it is something that was important for me (e.g. sales)...

Help :confused: please :)

Thanks for any ideas,
Zelda

pxt

Registered
I work in a consulting role too, so I'll speak of my own experience. I can see you've been doing GTD since 2005, so apologies if this is obvious...

It sounds like you are using GTD to do the right tasks with the time you have, but you need to 'make' more time.

I have found that if you are master of your subject and your clients can see that you are master of your processes then people really listen when you explain, logically, why something cannot be done in the time they wanted and therefore this is what they can have instead.

I wear my processes very visibly. I keep an immaculate desk, with just the computer, a stack of scrap paper and my smart phone. The smart phone is for collecting any thoughts for my non-client life. The paper is for collecting information from people calling or coming to my desk. The paper is also for work-in-process on the current task.