Things 3 and GTD

Discussion in 'PUBLIC: Discuss Tools & Software for GTD' started by mcogilvie, May 19, 2017.

  1. chirmer

    chirmer Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Web & graphic designer, marketer
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Home Page:
    Ohh, good to know! I didn't realize they performed differently. That makes sense, thanks!
     
  2. Mindfulcraig

    Mindfulcraig Registered

    Joined:
    May 15, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Are you able/willing to send a couple of screen shots to demonstrate this setup? I'm intrigued
     
  3. photodiva

    photodiva Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I just have all my projects listed by Area, so under Work I see the name of each project. Then in the section at the top called Anytime, I create the next actions with appropriate tags (@Mac, @Mac Work, Waiting For, etc.). It's just very clean and basic. Project List.png Next Actions.png
     
  4. Mindfulcraig

    Mindfulcraig Registered

    Joined:
    May 15, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ah, so your Projects are not Things Projects, but rather tasks under the Area of Focus(?)

    If so, would that not cause them to show up in your anytime view amongst your tasks?
    Is there are reason you don’t create flat lists for each context rather than using tags?
     
  5. photodiva

    photodiva Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    No, they're projects under the respective areas. The only thing I do differently is create the tasks without associating them with a projects. I think using tags is the only way to set the contexts.Can you explain more what you do with flat lists?
     
  6. Mindfulcraig

    Mindfulcraig Registered

    Joined:
    May 15, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Still Playing with this, but essentially it would mean creating Projects for Each Context and Project for a Projects List. See attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. photodiva

    photodiva Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Wow, that is an interesting way of doing it. It would eliminate the need for tags too.
     
  8. Mindfulcraig

    Mindfulcraig Registered

    Joined:
    May 15, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It's definitely slim and trim. Down side is you can't assign multiple contexts (tags) of course. I'm also looking at trimming down my tags considerably. Maybe using an "On Hold" and "Active" Tag to be able to subdivide my contexts lists without moving something temporarily into Someday/Maybe. In my mind S/M is a place I put ideas and projects I have not yet committed to. Parking tasks and projects there temporarily as a means to trim my lists down on a weekly basis strikes a sour note for me
     
  9. photodiva

    photodiva Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I agree about S/M -- and thanks for sharing your setup, I'm going to think through if this might work for me. Right now the way I have it set up it's streamlined and it does work. Much less fussing with everything like when I've used Omnifocus (which I really like too).
     

Share This Page