thinking about going to the Roadmap.

K

kermalou

The Roadmap is coming to Los Angeles and I am thinking of going.

I am new to this GTD stuff this week actually and my book is coming from Amazon. Do you guys think that the Roadmap is helpful without completely reading the book? I dont want to miss an opportunity of going to this event as well.

thanks.

Mark Jantzen

Registered
Do It!

I would highly recommend going. I went to the Boston RoadMap back in September. It was a great mix of fresh GTD ideas and old standby fundamentals.

They handed out a paperback version of David's book along with a dense seminar workbook. Not the only reason to go, but could influence your Amazon purchase.

I've seen DA twice live. Well worth it!

Mark

K

kermalou

but I haven't done any of his stuff yet, is it too much too soon?

C

CosmoGTD

It looks like the one day seminar is $600.
So it ain't cheap.
Weren't the last seminars a couple hundred bucks?

I wouldn't go for that price.

S

sonia_simone

I would say it depends a lot on your finances. If the $600 is not a huge deal to you, I could easily see getting a lot more out of it than the money and time you put in. (But I would definitely get the book in advance and go through the initial processing completely--you'll get more out of any seminar on any subject if the basic ideas aren't new to you.)

If the money is a stretch, you can find a lot of fantastic resources for free or virtually free. There are many GTD discussions on the Web. You could even get a few friends and/or co-workers together to do a study group.

You learn GTD by *doing* GTD. But if you have the resources, seminars can be a fun way to get energized. And $600 is not a lot of money to pick up even one really solid lifetime habit, which I think is very possible.

K

kermalou

i do accounting and am at wits end, I am willing to try this if it will help, the money is important to me, but so is going forward.

thanks for the tips, I think I will try it.

S