What would the GTD approach be to 'negative visualisation?'

Jorge Green

Registered
Should we note down potential negative outcomes to situations and review them as much as we review our positive outcomes?
I'm probably overthinking this... I do have OCD tendencies. Just curious what people think. Thanks!

SofiaSimone

Registered
Should we note down potential negative outcomes to situations and review them as much as we review our positive outcomes?
Hi Jorge! I'm very new to GTD and actually I did not get much further than learning about the method (which I see as very different than actually learning it – still have some "work" ahead). As I started reading his book and watching some interviews with David I almost immediately realised that this will/can be a very helpful tool for me to track my "forgiveness work".

What you are talking about, "potential negative outcomes or situations", is an image that is typically associated with fear (to different degrees: worry, panic, etc..) in my experience. I personally have started to gather a lot of my thoughts on paper, among those are things "to do" as well as a lot of thoughts and images that arouse some sort of discomfort in me; something I fear, feel guilty over from the past, and quite a bit of "negative self talk". In my understanding none of these thoughts/emotions have any "real" ground and come from some sort of belief that I hold about myself or the world.