Setting up Things 3

BrandiFig

Registered
Hi there, I am just starting out with GTD and I going to use Things 3. I purchased the GTD setup guide for Things, but I have a question for veteran users: the set up guide recommends not using areas, but making your lists (calls, computer, projects, etc.) projects. I can’t quite wrap my head around this, but I’m new. Do any of you set things up this way? What do you recommend?

gtdstudente

Registered
Hi there, I am just starting out with GTD and I going to use Things 3. I purchased the GTD setup guide for Things, but I have a question for veteran users: the set up guide recommends not using areas, but making your lists (calls, computer, projects, etc.) projects. I can’t quite wrap my head around this, but I’m new. Do any of you set things up this way? What do you recommend?
BrandiFig,

Aside from being ignorant of your chosen tool (Things 3):

Beginning with Contexts (@Agenda, @Calls, @Home, @Someday/Maybe, @Waiting For, etc.) and Projects can be a nice, simple, and elegant GTD Organization structure (plus necessary Capturing, Processing, Weekly Review Skill development) to get GTD going for yourself . . . and if you never need more than that then more GTD power to you!

Working only the Contexts, Projects, and minimal Calendar until say they end of the year . . . or until March 2024 can help you develop a good solid GTD foundation and prevent unnecessary excesses . . . in other words . . . as long as you can work as best as possible within those parameters as a trusted system with 'nothing or you mind' then for all intended purposes it would humbly seem that you would be doing world-class GTD

Best GTD wishes

As you see GTD fit

Last edited:

FocusGuy

Registered
@BrandiFig We spoke a bit about this in this forum. Have a look at https://forum.gettingthingsdone.com/threads/your-things-3-projects-setup.17174/